Conservatives Vow To Vote Down GOP Health Care Bill Without Changes – Huffington Post

The HuffPost whip count breaks opposition to the Republican health care bill into multiple categories. House Freedom Caucus members helped HuffPost identify who was so strongly against the legislation that pressure from Trump would not swing them. While we have not independently verified the positions of every member on the list, we have verified most of them, and are basing some predictions on other members’ knowledge.

Because this is our best guess as to where things currently stand with the vote, changes to the bill could change positions. The Freedom Caucus appears to be voting mostly as a bloc, so some changes could dramatically affect the whip count. But there could also be a number of members who are opposed to the bill and not sharing their thoughts, meaning the current whip count could be even worse.

With those considerable caveats in mind, here is our working list, as of Wednesday:

29 members extremely likely to be against (Change since Tuesday: +2): Justin Amash (R-Mich.), Rod Blum (R-Iowa), Dave Brat (R-Va.), Mo Brooks (R-Ala.), Ken Buck (R-Colo.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Warren Davidson (R-Ohio), Scott DesJarlais (R-Tenn.), Ron DeSantis (R-Fla.), Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.), Tom Garrett (R-Va.), Louie Gohmert (R-Texas), Paul Gosar (R-Ariz.), Andy Harris (R-Md.), Jody Hice (R-Ga.), Mike Johnson (R-La.), Walter Jones (R-N.C.), Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), Steve King (R-Iowa), Raul Labrador (R-Idaho), Leonard Lance (R-N.J.), Thomas Massie (R-Ky.), Mark Meadows (R-N.C.), Scott Perry (R-Pa.), Bill Posey (R-Fla.), Mark Sanford (R-S.C.), Randy Weber (R-Texas), Ted Yoho (R-Fla.), Andy Biggs (R-Ariz.).

12 members leaning against (Change since Tuesday: +2): Mark Amodei (R-Nev.), Rick Crawford (R-Ark.), Charlie Dent (R-Pa.), Dan Donovan (R-N.Y.), Trent Franks (R-Ariz.), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.), John Katko (R-N.Y.), Alex Mooney (R-W.Va.), Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-Fla.), Glenn Thompson (R-Pa..), Daniel Webster (R-Fla.), Rob Wittman (R-Va.).

7 undecided members (Change since Tuesday: -1): Brian Babin (R-Texas), Joe Barton (R-Texas), Jim Bridenstine (R-Okla.), Ryan Costello (R-Pa.), Steve Pearce (R-N.M.), Don Young (R-Alaska), Michael McCaul (R-Texas).


Write a Reply or Comment:

Your email address will not be published.*