Watch Microsoft’s education announcement today on CNET – CNET

Microsoft‘s education-focused event is being held Tuesday in New York at 9:30 a.m. ET (6:30 a.m. PT or 2.30 p.m. UK). We’ll be carrying the livestream of the event at the top of this page and adding updates here with new products as they’re announced.

The tech giant is expected to announce a new version of its Windows software designed to be much more secure and easier for schools to maintain, according to our sister site ZDNet. It’s also expected to show off a new computer aimed at students and schools.

Microsoft hopes that by doing this, it can help to get a new toehold in schools, where its computers have been at times outshined by Apple’s iPads and cheaper, stripped-down PCs called Chromebooks.

Check back here for all the details of Microsoft’s announcements.

Tech Enabled: CNET chronicles tech’s role in providing new kinds of accessibility.

Crowd Control: A crowdsourced science fiction novel written by CNET readers.

Comments

Write a Reply or Comment:

Your email address will not be published.*