Microsoft’s Build 2016 event: start time, live blog, and how to watch – The Verge

Microsoft returns to San Francisco today to hold its Build 2016 developers conference. It’s an annual event that’s designed to give software developers a better understanding of what Microsoft is planning for the rest of the year. In previous years we’ve seen some pretty big announcements, but we’re expecting today’s keynote to be a little more low-key.

Microsoft is expected to detail its next major Windows 10 update, and the new features it contains. That could include bigger changes to Cortana, interactive Live Tiles, and improvements to the notification center. It might still be a little early for Microsoft to cover all of its planned features for future Windows 10 updates, but we’re still expecting some details.

It wouldn’t be a developer conference without Microsoft focusing on its new universal apps. We’re hoping to hear about other high-profile additions alongside Instagram and Facebook, and it’s likely that Microsoft will focus on how developers can create apps across PC, phone, tablets, and the Xbox One. Microsoft will also detail how its Windows 10 apps run on the Xbox One, and its plans for an app store.

How to watch

Starting time: San Francisco: 8:30AM / New York: 11:30AM / London: 4:30PM / Berlin: 5:30PM / Moscow: 6:30PM / New Delhi: 8:30PM / Beijing: 11:30PM / Tokyo: 12:30AM (March 31st) / Sydney: 2:30AM (March 31st).

Live blog: Tune into The Verge’s live blog for up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from the venue.

Live streaming: Microsoft’s live stream is available online at the Channel 9 site.

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and details as they emerge.

Event preview

What to expect from Microsoft’s Build 2016 conference

    Comments

    Write a Reply or Comment:

    Your email address will not be published.*