How to watch Microsoft’s Surface Laptop event: start time and live stream – The Verge

Microsoft is returning to New York City today to launch some new hardware. We’re expecting the software maker to unveil its answer to Chrome OS, in the form of a new version of Windows 10. Microsoft’s response to Chromebooks comes at a crucial time for the PC industry, as Google’s laptops could be helping the PC market flatten out after years of decline. Chromebooks have been selling well in the education market, and a rumored new “Windows 10 Cloud” or “Windows 10 S” OS could be the answer to help Microsoft fight back in this important market.

We’re expecting Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella to take the stage this morning, alongside Joe Belfiore and Panos Panay to introduce new software and hardware. Microsoft won’t be unveiling a new Surface Pro 5 or Surface Book 2 at this event, and it’s strictly focused on education. We’ll likely see Microsoft’s answer to the Chromebook Pixel, alongside details on how the new variant of Windows 10 will better compete against Chrome OS devices. Images of a Surface Laptop leaked yesterday, and it appears to be a high-end device designed to push Microsoft’s new version of Windows 10.

Microsoft could surprise with other education-focused announcements, but we’re not expecting the company to detail most of the new features of its Windows 10 update that’s due to be released in September. As this May hardware event is so close to Build, Microsoft’s developer conference, the company will likely wait until next week to discuss the broader future of Windows 10. Stay tuned to The Verge and our Microsoft hub for all the latest updates.

Starting time: San Francisco: 6:30AM / New York: 9:30AM / London: 2:30PM / Berlin 3:30PM / Moscow: 4:30PM / Beijing: 9:30PM / Tokyo: 10:30PM / Sydney 12:30AM (May 3rd).

Live stream: Microsoft’s live stream is available online.

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and specs as they emerge.

Event preview: What to expect from Microsoft’s Chromebook event.

Comments

Write a Reply or Comment:

Your email address will not be published.*